Young champions in new look England squads

Marco Penge

Teenage champions Bradley Moore and Marco Penge are included in a new look England Golf men’s squad for 2015/16. 

They are among seven newcomers to the squad after a number of players switched to professional ranks. The others are: Jamie Bower, Alfie Plant, Jonathan Thomson, Sean Towndrow and Ashton Turner.

There are also five new players in the nine-strong England men’s A squad: Jake Burnage, Will Enefer, Josh Hilleard, Gian-Marco Petrozzi and Will Whiteoak.

The England women’s squad includes seven members of the previous line-up, among them English amateur champion Bronte Law and English stroke play winner Sammie Giles. They will be joined by four new players: Emma Allen, Eloise Healey, Sophie Lamb and Lizzie Prior.

The full squads are:

England Men

Jamie Bower (Meltham), Adam Chapman (Windermere), Paul Kinnear (Formby), Bradley Moore (Kedleston Park), Marco Penge (Golf at Goodwood), Alfie Plant (Sundridge Park), Jonathan Thomson (Lindrick), Sean Towndrow (Southport & Ainsdale), Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park).

Moore, 18, led the qualifiers for the British boys’ championship and is the English U18 boys’ champion, while Penge, 17, (image © Leaderboard Photography), is the winner of the England Golf boys’ order of merit, holds two junior titles and is the Scottish men’s stroke play champion.

Bower, Towndrow and Turner are all promoted from the A squad and are all England internationals, as are Chapman, Kinnear and Plant. Jonathan Thomson tied fourth in the European amateur and was sixth in the Brabazon Trophy.

Kinnear, who played in The Open at St Andrews, and Chapman, who retained his North of England title, were both in last year’s squad.

England A

Ben Amor (Marlborough), Jake Burnage (Saunton), William Enefer (Wrekin), Tom Gandy (Rowanby), Scott Gregory (Corhampton), Josh Hilleard (Farrington Park), Gian-Marco Petrozzi (Trentham), Will Whiteoak (Shipley) and Andrew Wilson (Darlington).

Amor, Gandy, Gregory and Wilson were all members of the squad last year. Burnage won the Philip Scrutton Jug for the best aggregate score in the Berkshire and Brabazon Trophies, while Hilleard was fourth on the men’s order of merit after a season which included wins in the Midlands amateur and North of England Youths. Whiteoak won the Tillman Trophy and led the northern qualifiers for the Brabazon.

Petrozzi and Enefer are both boy internationals who have had a host of high finishes this year. Enefer, who was runner-up in the German boys’ amateur, has had eight top ten finishes while Petrozzi has had six.

England Women

Emma Allen (Meon Valley), Lianna Bailey (Kirby Muxloe), Gemma Clews (Delamere Forest), India Clyburn (Woodhall Spa), Sammie Giles (St Mellion), Eloise Healey (West Lancashire), Alice Hewson (Berkhamsted), Sophie Lamb (Clitheroe), Bronte Law (Bramhall), Meghan MacLaren (Wellingborough) and Lizzie Prior (Burhill).

Allen, Healey and Prior played alongside Hewson in the England team which won the girls’ Home Internationals for the eighth successive year. The fourth newcomer to the squad, Sophie Lamb, was in England’s winning team at women’s Home Internationals together with Clews and Giles.

Six members of the squad are based at university in the USA: Law, the world number five and winner of the England Golf women’s order of merit; MacLaren, last year’s British strokeplay champion; Clyburn, the 2014 English girls’ champion; Prior, the winner of the England Golf girls’ order of merit; Allen, the winner of the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters; and Hewson, who was second at qualifying at the European women’s team championship. Lianna Bailey was second amateur at the recent WPGA International Challenge on the LET Access Series.