Tree chases unique treble at Royal Cinque Ports

Toby Tree

Toby Tree (Worthing, Sussex) will be aiming to complete a unique treble when the Carris Trophy, the English Boys under 18 Stroke Play Championship, supported by Titleist, is played over 72 holes at Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club in Kent on 24th – 27th July.

Tree, who made his full England international debut against France at Rochester & Cobham in May, could complete a clean sweep of England junior titles if he can finish first, having been under 14 champion in 2008 and under 16 champion in 2010.

He had a similar target at Broadstone last year but finished equal 16th.

Harry Casey (Enfield, Middlesex) will be defending the title he won at Broadstone with a closing 69 to finish a stroke ahead of Matthew Fitzpatrick (Hallamshire, Yorkshire), who is also in the field of 132.

There is always a huge challenge for this title, not least from the team just returned from the European Boys Team Championship in Sweden, Patrick Kelly (Boston West, Lincolnshire), Nick Marsh (Huddersfield, Yorkshire), Max Orrin (North Foreland, Kent), Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park, Lincolnshire) and Fitzpatrick and Tree.

Harrison Greenberry (Exeter G&CC, Devon), a reserve for the European Boys, is the British Boys champion after beating Kelly in the final at Burnham & Berrow last August, while Orrin is enjoying a successful season with victories in the Thunderbird International in America and the Kent Championship and runners-up spots in the Darwin Salver, McEvoy Trophy and the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters.

Apart from players from the other Home countries and the Channel Islands, there is also a strong overseas entry with players from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Spain plus Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

A Nations Cup, involving seven teams, will be contested over the opening two rounds, the best two scores to count. England is fielding two teams, comprising Fitzpatrick, Orrin and Tree in Team One and Greenberry, Kelly and Marsh in Team Two. The other teams are France (1) and Italy (2).

A glance at the previous winners of this title reveals some famous names such as Ken Brown, Sandy Lyle, Peter Baker and more recently Justin Rose and Tom Lewis. The list also includes Paul Baxter, joint President of England Golf this year.

Play starts at 7.30am each day and admission is free. For those unable to attend, live scoring and news updates will available on the Championships Section of the England Golf website.