Talented girls chosen for England Golf training

Sophie Madden

English U15 girls’ champion Sophie Madden is among 23 talented young players who have been selected for England Golf Select regional training squads for 2012/13.

Other players include Ashleigh Greenham who, like Sophie, was a member of the Essex team which won County Finals this year. (Sophie Madden image  © Leaderboard Photography) The 2012 Abraham Trophy winner, Kirsty Beckwith, is included, alongside last year’s titleholder Ciara Kelly. This competition is contested by England’s most improved girl golfers.

Another 62 promising girls have been selected for the Birdie training programme, which identifies potential among the country’s youngest players. They include  Hollie Muse, who is the English U13 girls’ champion.

The Select regional squads are:

Select East – Georgina Blackman (Chelmsford), Ashley Croft (Stock Brook Manor), Ashleigh Greenham (West Essex), Sophie Madden (West Essex)

Select Midlands – Ciara Kelly (Hagley), Olivia Kelly (Erewash Valley), Victoria Mallett (Sutton Coldfield Ladies’) Emily Slater (Woodhall Spa), Lucy Walton (The Worcestershire)

Select North – Laura Alexander (Eaglescliffe & District), Kirsty Beckwith (Moortown), Eloise Healey (West Lancashire), Sophie Lamb (Clitheroe), Emily Shea (Fairhaven).

Select South – Emma Allen (Meon Valley), Jelina Fernando (Mid Sussex), Emily Royer (Chart Hills), Luan Skeates (Buckinghamshire), Charlotte West (Ellesborough)

Select South West – Jemima Gregson (Knowle), Chloe Howard (Boringdon Park), Sophie Keech (Lyme Regis), Victoria Wakeley-Jones (Minchinhampton)

The Birdie squads are:

Birdies Year One

Jade Guest (Gog Magog), Matilde Kedzlie (Spalding), Chloe Rowswell (Eaton), Amy Taylor (Bawburgh), Amelia Williamson (Royal Cromer)

Emily Brennan (Trentham), Alice Brooks (Gaudet Luce), Sophie Johnson (Telford), Phoebe Stanley (Gaudet Luce)

North East
Briony Bales (Bishop Auckland), Aimee Goodlad (Castle Eden), Jessica Hall (Bishop Auckland), Georgia Holden (Lightcliffe), Jessica Smee (Ganstead Park), Alexandra Stevenson (Beamish Park).

North West
Georgia Ball (Huyton & Prescot), Ana Dawson (Peel), Bethany Greenhalgh (Manchester), Lucy Jamieson (Heswall), Freya Johnson (Royal Liverpool), Natasha Slater (Furness)

Bethany Goater (Hockley), Victoria Hart (Hadden Hill), Katy Mackworth-Praed (Dummer), Tara O’Herlihy (Basingstoke), Priyanka Parmar (Pinner Hill), Daniella Ubasa (Pinner Hill)

South East
Nicole Amos (Faversham), Shana Dutrieux (Wrotham Heath), Chloe Frankish (Chart Hills), Nicola Smith (Sittingbourne & Milton Regis), Nicole Stewart (Chart Hills)

South West
Grace Connelly (Vale), Megan Giles (St Mellion), Charlotte Heeps (Minchinhampton New), Grace Jackson (Tiverton), Caley McGinty (Knowle), Maddie Stone (East Devon), Emily Toy (Carlyon Bay)

Birdies Year Two

Harriet Allsebrook (Shifnal), Sally Ayres (Frilford Heath), Megan Dennis (Woburn), Aimee Field (Hagley), Shamiso Hatchard (Woburn).

Louisa Brunt (Manchester), Megan Clarke (Cleckheaton & District), Hollie Muse (West Lancashire), Abigail Smee (Ganstead Park), Katie-Jane Stanley (Manchester)

Eloise Aldous (Newton Green), Alice Barlow (Newton Green), Penelope Brown (Worthing), Martha Lewis (St George’s Hill), Fiona McCann (North Foreland), Emma Norris (Denham), Hannah Screen (Berkhamsted).

Birdies Year Three

Bethany Acey (Lindrick), Olivia Hamilton (Cleckheaton & District), Olivia Jackson (Oakdale), Rhiannon Linacre (Coxmoor), Billie-Jo Smith (Woodhall Spa), Melissa Wood (Huddersfield)