Lancashire to target fourth win at Boys’ County Finals

The Boys County trophy sits in front of the clubhouse

Lancashire will start out as slender favourites when the finals of the Boys’ County Championships are played at North Foreland Golf Club in Kent on 27-29 August.

They beat 2017 and 2018 champions Yorkshire in this year’s Northern Qualifier but will still face tough competition from strong teams from Devon, Kent and Northamptonshire. Lancashire last claimed the title at Pannal in 2006 while their rivals are all seeking maiden victories in a popular event inaugurated back in 1986.

The event is played in a round robin match play format over three days with each individual match decided on the outcome of three foursomes in the morning and six singles in the afternoon. Each county enters a team of seven players with any six of them being eligible to play in both the foursomes and the singles.

The Teams:

Josh Fallows, Royal Birkdale
George Holland, Southport & Ainsdale
Matthew Jackman, Southport & Ainsdale
Alex James, Royal Lytham & St Annes
Jack Anthony McPhail, Southport & Ainsdale
Jamie Van Wyk, Royal Lytham & St Annes
Charlie Ward, Davyhulme Park

David Baldwin, Tiverton
Fred Bishop, Exeter
Jack Jeffery, Exeter
Matt Millar, Dainton Park
Craig Passmore, Torquay
James Reed, Exeter
Jay Scott, Tiverton

Oliver Gaisford, Tenterden
Miles Gray, Etchinghill
Jacob Kelso, Kings Hill
Oliver Lewis-Perkins, Mid-Kent
Jack Shipton, Royal St George’s
James Wright, Ashford
George Young, West Malling

Max Hayward, Staverton Park
Corey Neville, Northamptonshire County
Harry Oddy, Northamptonshire County
Josh Pritchett, Northamptonshire County
Joe Quinn, Northamptonshire County
Owen Watts, Northamptonshire County
Luis Witherall, Northamptonshire County

Photos: Credit Leaderboard Photography.