Kelly claims Fairhaven Trophy

Fairhaven Nations Cup Winners 2012 copyright Tom Ward

Two closing rounds of one under par 71 saw Patrick Kelly (Boston West, Lincolnshire), a member of the England boys squad, win the annual Fairhaven Trophy on the Fylde Coast.

The 17 year old finished on 285, three under par, two strokes ahead of Joe Dean (Lindrick, Yorkshire) and three clear of boy squad colleagues Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park, Lincolnshire) and Nick Marsh (Huddersfield, Yorkshire).

Kelly was also a member of the England 1 team that won the Nations Cup played over the first two rounds so he had double reason to celebrate.

Runner-up in the British Boys Championship last year, Kelly trailed Dean by two strokes going into the final round, but an eagle-three at the first where Dean birdied, cut the deficit.

However, Kelly reached the turn in 36 to Dean’s 35 to drop three behind the Yorkshire lad but events changed dramatically over the back nine.

Dean double-bogeyed the short tenth and dropped further shots at the 15th and 16th for an inward 40 and 75 while Kelly seized his chance with birdies at the 12th and 13th.

Although he bogeyed the 14th, Kelly parred his way in for his second 71 of the day and his first victory of the season.

The girls title went to Finland’s Lida Nikka on 298, two under par, just a shot ahead of Oliver Winning (Rotherham, Yorkshire), who closed with a brace of 75s having set a course record 70 on the opening day.

In the Nations Cup, England 1 were successful on 288, Kelly being joined by Max Orrin (North Foreland, Kent) and Gabriella Cowley (West Essex, Essex).

They finished two strokes ahead of England 2 and five clear of Finland 1 in third place. Olivia Winning’s course record 70 went a long way towards their 290 along with March and Harry Ellis (Meon Valley, Hampshire, IoW & CI).

The third England team: Alice Hewson (Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire), Turner and Bradley Moore (Kedleston Park, Derbyshire) finished sixth on 296.

Leading final scores:

285 P Kelly (Boston West) 69 74 71 71
287 J Dean (Lindrick) 68 73 71 75
288 A Turner (Kenwick Park) 70 74 71 73, N Marsh (Huddersfield) 70 71 73 74
289 H James (Kidderminster) 73 74 71 71
298 L Nikka (Finland) 74 79 72 73
299 O Winning (Rotherham) 70 79 75 75
301 M Pulliainen (Finland) 74 73 78 76
306 E Healey (West Lancs) 78 71 80 77, A Hewson (Berkhamsted) 78 75 76 77
307 G Cowley (West Essex) 74 77 79 77
Nations Cup
288 England 1 – P Kelly 68 74, M Orrin 72 73, G Cowley 74 77
290 England 2 – N Marsh 70 71, H Ellis 78 78, O Winning 70 79

Picture shows left-right: Max Orrin, Gabriella Cowley, Patrick Kelly.  Image copyright Tom Ward.