Four England players selected for European teams

Matthew Jordan

England players Todd Clements, Matthew Jordan, Annabell Fuller and Bel Wardle have been selected for European teams for matches against Asia Pacific.

Clements and Jordan are in the team for the men’s Bonallack Trophy, while Fuller and Wardle will help contest the women’s Patsy Hankins Trophy. Both matches will be played at Doha Golf Club, Qatar, from 8-10 March

Clements, 21, (Braintree, Essex) is the English men’s amateur champion. He topped the 2017 MENA (Middle East and North Africa) Tour amateur order of merit and earned a spot in the Omega Dubai Desert Classic last month, where he finished as leading amateur in a tie for 68th place.

Matthew Jordan, 22, (Royal Liverpool, Cheshire) capped an impressive 2017 season with his selection for the Walker Cup after winning the St Andrews Links Trophy, finishing runner-up in the Scottish open amateur, fourth in the Irish open amateur, fifth in the Brabazon Trophy and sixth in the European amateur. He also helped England to a silver medal in the 2017 European team championship. (Image copyright Leaderboard Photography).

Annabell Fuller, 15, (Roehampton, Surrey) finished as runner-up in this year’s Portuguese women’s amateur after a play-off. In 2017, she claimed a silver medal in the 2017 ANNIKA Invitational Europe and finished third individually in the European Nations Cup. She is also the English U16 girls’ champion and was third in the European Young Masters.

Bel Wardle, 18, (Prestbury, Cheshire) beat Fuller in a play-off to claim the Portuguese women’s title last month. In 2017, she won both the English girls’ and women’s open championships. In 2016, she was runner-up in the British girls’ championship. Both Wardle ad Fuller are in the initial GB&I Curtis Cup squad.

The Bonallack Trophy is a biennial match, inaugurated in 1998, and Europe has won the last five matches. The Patsy Hankins Trophy was played for the first time in 2016 when Asia-Pacific scored a narrow victory. The European women’s team will again be captained by England’s Elaine Ratcliffe who said: “I am sure it will be a close match again, but this year we are looking for a different result!”

The full teams:

Bonallack Trophy
Edgar Catherine (Fra)
Todd Clements (Eng)
Robin Dawson (Irl)
Oliver Gillberg (Swe)
Marc Hammer (Ger)
Rasmus Hojgaard (Den)
Matias Honkala (Fin)
Angel Hidalgo Portillo (Esp)
Matthew Jordan (Eng)
Frederic Lacroix (Fra)
Kristoffer Reitan (Nor)
Sami Valimaki (Fin)

Patsy Hankins Trophy
Gudrun Bjorgvinsdottir (Isl)
Zhen Bontan (Ned)
Bianca Fabrizio (Ita)
Blanca Fernandez Garcia-Poggio (Esp)
Annabell Fuller (Eng)
Paula Grant (Irl)
Frida Kinhult (Swe)
Amanda Linner (Swe)
Clarisse Louis (Bel)
Puk Lyng Thomsen (Den)
Elena Moosmann (Sui)
Isobel Wardle (Eng)