English clubs shortlisted for national awards

Emma Clifford

English clubs figure strongly in the shortlists for the 2015 Golf Club Management Awards, which have been expanded to cover three categories.

The awards, organised by the Golf Club Managers’ Association (GCMA), will be presented to the Manager of the Year and to the new categories, the Newcomer Manager of the Year, and Golf Club Team of the Year, including the manager, professional and head greenkeeper.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Manager of the Year
Andrew Minty – Langland Bay GC, Wales
Alison Malham – Seaton Carew GC, Durham
Phil Bonsall – Piltdown GC, Sussex
Tracy Rawlinson – Warrington GC, Cheshire

Newcomer Manager of the Year
Stuart Leech – Formby GC, Lancashire
Alex Woodward – Boyce Hill GC, Essex

Team of the Year
High Post GC, Wiltshire
Royal Cromer GC, Norfolk

Bob Williams, chief executive of the GCMA, said: “The competition has grown exponentially in the decade since its inception and the time was right to expand it into three categories.

“The standard of all the initial nominees was extremely high, and whittling them down to three shortlists wasn’t easy. Choosing overall winners was even more difficult – every candidate presented themselves impressively – but after considerable discussion, we are confident that the winners we’ve chosen truly represent the highest standard of golf club management.”

The awards will be presented at the GCMA’s conference in November. Previous Manager of the Year winners include Emma Clifford (pictured) of West Essex GC, Debbie Pern of Deeside GC, Scotland, Peter Johns of Eaton GC, Norwich, and Gary Pearce of Fulford GC, York.

Click here for the GCMA website