England trio picked for European teams

Meghan MacLaren

England internationals Meghan MacLaren, Bradley Moore and Ashton Turner will represent Europe in matches against Asia Pacific next week. 

MacLaren (image © Leaderboard Photography) has been selected for the inaugural women’s match for the Patsy Hankins Trophy, which remembers one of New Zealand’s great administrators. The team will be captained by England’s Elaine Ratcliffe, a former Curtis Cup player and the England women’s team captain.

Moore and Turner will help Europe to defend the Bonallack Trophy, which has been played biannually since 1998 and won six times by Europe. The trophy is named after Sir Michael Bonallack, the exceptional English amateur and former secretary of the R&A.

Both matches will take place at the Vidago Palace Golf Club in Portugal from March 16-18 and will follow the same format. The teams will play foursomes and fourballs on each of the first two days, followed by 12 singles on the last day.

The players:

Meghan MacLaren, 21, (Wellingborough) is a past winner of the British and Irish stroke play titles and has had seven victories on the US college circuit, where she is a student at Florida International university. She has represented GB&I in the Vagliano Trophy. She had a top ten finish in this year’s South American amateur.

Bradley Moore, 18, (Kedleston Park) tied for third place in this year’s Lake Maquarie International in Australia, won the 2015  Carris Trophy – the English U18 boys' open stroke play – and was the top qualifier for the British boys’ championship. He was captain of the GB&I boys’ team which successfully retained the 2015 Jacques Leglise Trophy against the Continent of Europe.

Ashton Turner, 19, (Kenwick Park) also toured Australia this season where he had top 20 finishes in the Master of the Amateurs and the Lake Macquarie Amateur, reached the second round of the Australian Amateur and also made the matchplay in the New South Wales Amateur. He won the U21 Darwin Salver last year, having also held it in 2013.

The full teams are:

Patsy Hankins Trophy
Captain: Elaine Ratcliffe (ENG), Vice-Captain: Anna Roscio (ITA)
Gioia Carpinelli (SUI)
Lucrezia Colombotto Rosso (ITA)
Bianca Fabrizio (ITA)
Laura Fünfstück (GER)
Frida Kinhult (SWE)
Puk Lyng Thomsen (DEN)
Olivia Mehaffey (IRL)
Meghan MacLaren (ENG)
Maria Parra Luque (ESP)
Luna Sobrón Galmés (ESP)
Emma Spitz (AUT)
Albane Valenzuela  (SUI)

Bonallack Trophy
Captain: Alexis Godillot (FRA), Vice-Captain: Yves Hofstetter (SUI)
David Boote (WAL)
Ivan Cantero Gutierrez (ESP)
Luca Cianchetti (ITA)
Grant Forrest (SCO)
Mario Galiano (ESP)
Jack Hume (IRL)
Jeroen Krietemeijer (NED)
Stefano Mazzoli (ITA)
Jack McDonald (SCO)
Bradley Moore (ENG)
Robin Petersson (SWE)
Ashton Turner (ENG)