England target a home win

Crowborough Beacon

The Senior Men’s Home Internationals return to England next week when the championship is played at Crowborough Beacon Golf Club in Sussex.

The three-day round robin tournament starts on Tuesday, 15 September, when Scotland, the titleholders, take on Wales and England face Ireland, the European senior team champions for the past two years.

England captain Roy Smethurst said: “We have a tough start against Ireland but our lads will be up for it and will be looking forward to getting off to a good start.”

The team is made up of the six players who took fifth place for England in the European championship in Bulgaria, together with European senior champion Clive Jones. Several of the players have been to practice on the course and Jones, who lives in France, comes from Sussex and enjoys local knowledge.

England will be aiming to regain possession of the trophy which they have held six times, most recently in 2013. England’s first victory was in the inaugural match in 2002 at Nairn Dunbar in Scotland, when the team included Smethurst.

Since then, the team has won at Aberdovey, Wales, in 2004; Caldy, England, in 2007; Tenby, Wales, in 2008; Southerndown, Wales, in 2012; and Royal County Down, Ireland, in 2013.

Ireland have won the title outright four times and shared the honours once with Wales. Scotland, the defending champions, also won in 2006 and both their victories have been on their home ground, at Dunbar and last year at North Berwick.

Crowborough Beacon Golf Club is a regular host of county events and enjoys a dramatic heathland setting on one of the highest points in Sussex with far reaching views to the sea 22 miles away.

Each match will consist of three morning foursomes and six afternoon singles. Play will start at 0745 each day, with the first singles teeing off at 1315. Spectators are welcome and full scores, reports will be available here.

The teams:

Ian Attoe (Worplesdon)
Stephen East (Moortown)
Clive Jones (Toulouse)
Alan Mew (Stoneham)
David Niven (Newbury & Crookham)
Richard Partridge (Wildernesse)
Mark Stones (Boyce Hill)

Tom Cleary
Denis Deasy
Billy Donlon
Nigel Duke
Maurice Kelly
John Mitchell
Adrian Morrow

Graham Bell
Lindsay Blair
Ian Brotherston
John Fraser
David Gardner
Malcolm Reid
Robert Stewart

Paul Bloomfield
Robert Broad
Nigel Evans
Phil Sutton
Glyn Rees
Jeff Thomas
Andrew Williams