England quintet in St Andrews Trophy squad

Garrick Porteous 2012

A combined total of 11 England internationals have been selected for the St Andrews Trophy and Jacques Leglise Trophy teams to face the Continent of Europe at Portmarnock in Ireland on 31st August – 1st September.

England supply five players to the St Andrews Trophy team. They are: Craig Hinton (The Oxfordshire, BB&O), Nathan Kimsey (Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire), Garrick Porteous (Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland), Neil Raymond (Corhampton, Hampshire, IoW & CI), and Ben Taylor (Walton Heath, Surrey).

Hinton made his England debut in last year’s Home Internationals and is the Welsh Open Stroke Play champion, while Kimsey debuted in the recent Home Internationals when he won all six of his games, the first time that has been achieved by an England player for 15 years. He was also a semi-finalist in the English Amateur.

Porteous, (image © Tom Ward) also made his full England debut in the 2011 Home Internationals and finished third individual as England won the European Men’s Challenge Trophy in Iceland last month.

Raymond has won the Brabazon Trophy for the past two years, reached the quarter finals of the English Amateur and has been an England cap for the past two years, while Taylor, who also reached the English Amateur last eight, was another to make his England debut in last year’s Home Internationals.

The full St Andrews Trophy squad is: Alan Dunbar (Ireland), Craig Hinton (England), Nathan Kimsey (England), Kevin Phelan (Ireland), Garrick Porteous (England), Rhys Pugh (Wales), Neil Raymond (England), Graeme Robertson (Scotland), and Ben Taylor (England).

New English champion Harry Ellis (Meon Valley, Hampshire, IoW & CI), and British Boys champion Matthew Fitzpatrick (Hallamshire, Yorkshire) are two of six England players in the Jacques Leglise team. The others are: Patrick Kelly (Boston West, Lincolnshire), Max Orrin (North Foreland, Kent), Toby Tree (Worthing, Sussex) and Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park, Lincolnshire).

Ellis, 16, became the youngest ever winner of the English title when he won at Silloth-on-Solway earlier this month, while Fitzpatrick, 17, won the British Boys Championship by 10 and 8 last weekend at Notts (Hollinwell), the largest winning margin since 1974.

Kelly is the English under 18 champion following his triumph in the Carris Trophy at Royal Cinque Ports last month, while Orrin, 18, finished equal third in the Carris Trophy and dropped just half a point from his six games in helping England win the recent Boys Home Internationals.

Tree, 18, a former English under 14 and under 16 champion, became a full England international against France in May and reached the quarter finals of the English Amateur, while Turner, 16, the Lincolnshire boys champion, scored five points from his six games in the Boys Home Internationals.

The full Jacques Leglise squad is: Harry Ellis (England), Matthew Fitzpatrick (England), Alex Gleeson (Ireland), Patrick Kelly (England), Gavin Moynihan (Ireland), Bradley Neil (Scotland), Max Orrin (England), Toby Tree (England) and Ashton Turner (England).