Countdown to the Brabazon Trophy

Brabazon Your Golf Travel

Join our daily countdown to the Brabazon Trophy, supported by Your Golf Travel, and enjoy our series of facts.

23rd June – 1 day to go
There can only be one winner. Who will it be? Join us at Notts. (Hollinwell) Golf Club to find out. The first ball will be struck at 7am by Nottinghamshire’s Henry Alls, a member at Radcliffe-on Trent.

See you tomorrow! Spectators are welcome and admission is free.

22nd June – 2 days to go
Two Brabazon champions went on to win Major titles. Sandy Lyle (1975/77) won the 1985 Open Championship and the 1988 Masters. Charl Schwartzel (2002) won the 2011 Masters.

21st June – 3 days to go
The Brabazon Trophy has been reduced to 54 holes three times because of bad weather: 2009, 2008 and 1968.

20th June – 4 days to go
Sir Michael Bonallack has won the Brabazon Trophy four times, one more than any other player. He was successful in 1964, 1968, 1969 (shared) and 1971.

19th June- 5 days to go
This is the fifth time Notts. Golf Club has hosted the Brabazon. Other five-times hosts are:
Royal Birkdale Golf Club
Moortown Golf Club
Royal Liverpool Golf Club
Hunstanton Golf Club

18th June – 6 days to go
It’s six years since the Brabazon Trophy went out of England. Niall Kearney of Ireland won at Moortown in 2009.

17th June – 7 days to go
Seven players are double winners of the Brabazon Trophy:
Ronnie White 1950 1951
Charlie Stowe 1954 1953
Doug Sewell 1957 1959
Rodney Foster 1969 1970
Sandy Lyle 1975 1977
Gary Evans 1990 1991
Neil Raymond 2011, 2012

16th June – 8 days to go
Eight clubs have hosted the Brabazon Trophy on just one occasion:
Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club
Northumberland Golf Club
Woburn Golf and Country Club
Royal St George’s Golf Club
West Lancashire Golf Club
The Oxfordshire Golf Club
Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Trevose Golf & Country Club

15th June – 9 days to go
Nine Brabazon champions have played in the Ryder Cup:
Peter Baker
Gordon Brand Jnr
Ignacio Garrido
Peter Hanson
Sandy Lyle
Ronan Rafferty,
Paul Way

14th June – 10 days to go
Ten champions have won the Brabazon Trophy more than once. They are:
Four wins: Sir Michael Bonallack
Three: Philip Scrutton and Ronnie Shade
Two: Ronnie White, Charlie Stowe, Doug Sewell, Rodney Foster, Sandy Lyle
Gary Evans and Neil Raymond

13th June – 11 days to go
There are 11 Yorkshire players in the Brabazon Trophy field:
Ben Brewster of Bawtry
Ben Hutchinson of Howley Hall
Dan Brown of Bedale
Dan Wasteney of Bondhay
Jamie Bower of Meltham
Joe Dean of Lindrick
Jonathan Thomson of Lindrick
Martin Brown of Pike Hills
Nathan Fell of Lindrick
Nick Marsh of Huddersfield
Will Whiteoak of Shipley

12th June 2015 – 12 days to go
The Brabazon Trophy field includes 12 members of the GB&I Walker Cup squad for the match against the USA at Royal Lytham & St Annes in September. The team will be announced in August and the selectors will be following the action closely.
The squad players are:
Tomasz Anderson of England (Brocket Hall)
David Boote of Wales (Walton Heath)
Daniel Brown of England (Bedale)
Adam Chapman of England (Windermere)
Ashley Chesters of England (Hawkstone Park)
Paul Dunne of Ireland (Greystones)
Jack Hume of Ireland (Naas)
Gary Hurley of Ireland (West Waterford)
Nick Marsh of England (Huddersfield)
Gavin Moynihan of Ireland (The Island)
Jimmy Mullen of England (Royal North Devon)
Cormac Sharvin of Ireland (Ardglass)

Click here for the championship webpage