Champion field lines up for English women’s amateur

Olivia Winning
A host of champions will seek to win another title when the English women’s amateur championship is held next week at Lindrick Golf Club, Yorkshire.
The high-quality field includes Cara Gainer (Castle Royle), who won the English women’s match play last week, Sophie Lamb (Clitheroe), the British stroke play champion, Gemma Clews (Delamere Forest), the Welsh stroke play winner, Emily Price (Cleobury Mortimer), the English stroke play champion, and Lily May Humphreys (Stoke by Nayland) the English U16 girls’ champion and recent winner of the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters.
Challenging them will be a host of internationals, including Yorkshire’s Curtis Cup player Rochelle Morris (Woodsome Hall) and Olivia Winning, pictured, (Rotherham), while Leicestershire’s Lianna Bailey (Kirby Muxloe) will be playing alongside her sisters, Annabel and Jessica.
Among the other Yorkshire players is a second set of sisters, Abigail and Jessica Smee from Hessle. The host club, Lindrick, will be represented by Mia Eales-Smith, while another 11 Yorkshire players are in the field.
They are Kirsty Beckwith (Alwoodley), Ellie Goodall (Selby), Charlotte Heath (Huddersfield), Hannah Holden (Lightcliffe), Olivia Jay and Toni-Louise Naylor (Waterton Park), Holly Morgan (Hallamshire), Laura Morrison (Garforth), Jasmine Reese (Hickleton), Nicola Slater and Melissa Wood (Woodsome Hall).
This is the second time the championship has been played at Lindrick and the players will be tested by a championship course which has previously hosted the Ryder Cup and the Curtis Cup, together with high-profile amateur events as the British youths’ championship, English mid-amateur and the British women’s amateur.
The club’s members include Lee Westwood, Danny Willett, Matt Fitzpatrick, Mark Foster – and England Golf’s 2016 President, Marian Rae.
The English women’s amateur will be played from Tuesday to Thursday, 18-20 July. All competitors will play 18 holes on each of the first two days. The field is then cut to the leading 40 players and ties who play 36 holes on the final day. Spectators are welcome.
Image copyright Stills Photography