Boys’ county trophy awaits a fresh name

Kings Lynn

There will be a new name on the trophy after next week’s Boys’ County Championship at King’s Lynn in Norfolk, where each of the finalists will seek their first win.

The challengers are the four regional winners: Durham who represent the North, Northamptonshire from the Midlands, Wiltshire from the South West, together with Hampshire, the Isle of Wight and the Channel Islands, representing the South East.

The championship is played from Tuesday to Thursday, 25-27 August, and is a round robin competition, with three foursomes each morning and six singles in the afternoon. On the first day Durham will play Wiltshire and Hampshire will take on Northamptonshire.

Durham were runners-up at last year’s championship, which also included Wiltshire, while Hampshire reached the final as recently as 2013. However, this will be Northamptonshire’s first appearance.

The teams are packed with talented players such as Durham’s Jack Ainscough and Northamptonshire’s Ben Jones, who will both represent England in the Italian U16 championship at the beginning of September.

Hampshire’s Jordan Sundborg caused one of the upsets of the recent Boys’ Amateur Championship when he knocked out top seed Bradley Moore in the fourth round. Ainscough and Northamptonshire’s Matthew Myers and Callum Farr also reached the match play stages of the championship.

Wiltshire’s James Cooper and Charlie Salter of Northamptonshire are among the boys who have been members of England Golf U16 squads. Meanwhile Hampshire’s Josh Oddy helped England to a clean sweep in last year’s U16 home international series.

Caption: The second green at King’s Lynn, where the tree-lined fairways are a feature of the challenging course.

The teams are:
Jack Ainscough, Hartlepool
Rian Dixon, Castle Eden
Christopher Handy, South Moor
Thomas Harbord, Castle Eden
Aaron McManus, Darlington
Will Marshall, Heworth
Tom Skelton, Beamish Park

Hampshire, IoW and CI
Jonathan Anderson, Royal Jersey
Lawrence Cherry, Stoneham
Josh Oddy, Westridge
Conor Richards, Shanklin & Sandown
George Roberts, Meon Valley
Jason Stokes, La Moye
Joshua Sturt, Rowlands Castle
Jordan Sundborg, Shanklin & Sandown

Luke Barney, Overstone Park
Callum Farr, Priors Hall
Tom Forster, Oundle
Ben Jones, Brampton Heath
Matthew Myers, Northamptonshire County
Fergus Robinson, Northamptonshire County
Charlie Salter, Northamptonshire County

Jamie Amor, Marlborough
Jake Bolton, Ogbourne Downs
Dominic Burgess, Salisbury & South Wilts
James Cooper, Cumberwell Park
Charlie Dunn, West Wilts
Max Mulcock, Wrag Barn
Tom Stagg, Salisbury & South Wilts

Click here for all the championship information