Yorkshire boys retain their crown

Yorkshire successfully retained their crown as English Boys’ County Champions with a perfect record of three wins from three matches at Rockliffe Hall in Co Durham.

They took on the challenge of three other regional champions – Cornwall, Kent, and Lincolnshire – in the round robin and came through County Finals with flying colours.

They opened their campaign with a 6-3 win over Kent, followed up by beating Cornwall 6.5-2.5, and defeated Lincolnshire 7-2 in the last day’s title decider.

Team manager Philip Woodcock commented: “It was a fantastic win. I felt it was tougher than last year, the boys in the other teams were very good and there was some great golf played, as there always is.

“Our boys played absolutely fantastic. I always say we are a team, we’re Team Yorkshire, a unit, and we all work together for the end result.

“The boys all played their own part and they were absolutely delighted to retain it. It was tough getting here and when we did our aim was to win.”

The Yorkshire team was coached by Craig Fricker of Styrrup Hall and included five members of last year’s winning line-up: Charlie Daughtrey (Rotherham), Michael Hay (Middlesbrough), Jack Leversidge (Abbeydale), Callum Macfie (Lindrick) and Ben Schmidt (Rotherham). They were joined by Joshua Berry (Doncaster) and Jack Maxey (Hornsea).

In the other matches Lincolnshire beat Cornwall 6-3 on day one and halved with Kent on day two. On the last day Kent beat Cornwall 7-2.

Final placings: 1 Yorkshire, 2 Kent on countback from 3 Lincolnshire, 4 Cornwall.

The other teams were:

Cornwall – Cameron Gurd (Perranporth), George Leigh (Trevose), George Law (Perranporth), Thomas Stephens (Truro), Joe Reynard (Trevose), Ewan Warren (St Austell), Liam Wilson (Truro).

Kent – Connor Bell (Royal Blackheath), Jensen Hull (Hever Castle), Jacob Kelso (Kings Hill), Ben Quinney (Bearsted), Oliver Sly (Wildernesse), Callum Tibbs (Chart Hills), George Young (West Malling).

Lincolnshire – Michael Baines (Sleaford), Callum Bruce (Elsham), Jake Craddock (Belton Park), Thomas Hull (Spalding), Hugo Kedzlie (Spalding), Olly Mitchell (Belton Park), Jack Remblance (Seacroft).

Full scores can be found here

Caption: The winning Yorkshire team. Back row, from left: Joshua Berry, Charlie Daughtrey, Jack Leversidge, Jack Maxey and Ben Schmidt. Front row, from left: Michael Hay and Callum Macfie. (Image copyright Leaderboard Photography).