Quality field of under 16 boys gather for McGregor Trophy

The cream of under 16 boys’ golf will gather from tomorrow at Sherwood Forest Golf Club to battle it out for the McGregor Trophy.

A full field of 144 players from the home unions and continental Europe will play 72 holes of stroke play to determine who follows last year’s champion, Harley Smith, into the winner’s circle.

Smith – now too old to defend his crown – triumphed in 2021 at Camberley Heath Golf Club before going on to win the Carris Trophy at Bristol and Clifton Golf Club the following week.

Previous winners of the English Boys’ Under 16 Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship for the McGregor Trophy include players who went on to achieve great success in the professional ranks.

Former US Open champion and Justin Rose won the McGregor in 1995. Another famous name on the trophy is that of Italy’s Edoardo Molinari – a future Ryder Cup team-mate of Rose.

The roll of honour also includes successful European Tour players including Paul Waring, Graeme Storm and Oliver Fisher.

Discover more about Sherwood Forest Golf Club

Golfers will play 18 holes on each of the opening two days (Tuesday and Wednesday) before a cut takes place and the leading 40 players and those tied for 40th position will play a further 36 holes on Thursday.

Sebastian Desoisa – the Gibraltar-based English Under 16 international – is the leading player from last year’s event to make the start sheet for the 2022 edition.

As well as finishing fifth in 2021, Desoisa (main image) also claimed the Jean Case Memorial Trophy which is awarded to the highest ranked player aged under 15.

  • In the Nations Cup element of the championship, England will be represented by two teams.

Team one is comprised of Charlie Croker (Thorndon Park), Drew Sykes (Goodwood) and Oscar Lent (Walton Heath).

Monty Holcombe (Walton Heath), Daniel Hayes (Bramhall) and Ashley Millington (The Players Club) make up team two.


Round One Tee Times