Accidental move of ball while searching for it

Golfer searching for ball in leaves

A golfer has accidentally kicked his ball away from its original spot while searching for it in the leaves.

You are the ref in this golf rules quiz, and the golfer needs your help on the correct ruling.

Click or tap play on the video below to watch the scenario play out, and view three different options.

Rules quiz scenario

A player’s ball comes to rest under some leaves in the rough.

While searching for the ball and sweeping away leaves, he accidentally moves the ball forward.

The player knows he should not be penalised for accidentally moving the ball, but is unsure what to do for his next shot.

Which one of the three options will you make as your ruling?

Ruling Option 1

  • The ball was accidentally moved while searching, so there is no penalty.
  • The player can now play the ball as it lies.

Ruling Option 2

  • The ball was accidentally moved while searching, so there is no penalty.
  • The player should drop the ball within a one-club length relief area from where it originally lay.

Ruling Option 3

  • The ball was accidentally moved while searching, so there is no penalty.
  • The player should replace the ball on the estimated spot where it originally lay.

So what is the correct ruling? Click or tap play on the video below to find out.