Curtis Cup players and champions head to Coventry

W Open Amateur Stroke Play trophy

Curtis Cup players and champions are targeting the English women’s open amateur championship which gets underway at Coventry Golf Club on Tuesday.

They’re aiming to follow in the footsteps of Solheim Cup stars Charley Hull, Jodi Ewart and Joanna Morley who have all won this title.

The high-class international field includes players from 11 different countries and three Curtis Cup players: Lily May Humphreys and Sophie Lamb of England and Shannon McWilliams from Scotland.

Many of the competitors hold individual titles and have amassed other impressive achievements.

Humphreys, 16, (Stoke by Nayland, Essex) is the Scottish women’s open winner while Lamb, from Clitheroe, Lancashire, was leading amateur at the 2017 British Women’s Open and is a past winner of the British stroke play.

Georgina Blackman, (Chelmsford, Essex) is the English women’s amateur champion and Yorkshire’s Nicola Slater (Lindrick) holds the English match play title and won the Bridget Jackson Bowl at Handsworth.

Scotland’s Hannah McCook has won both the Irish and Welsh open titles and, alongside McWilliams, was in the Scotland’s winning team at the recent Women’s Home Internationals.

Hollie Muse, from West Lancashire, reached the semi-finals of the British women’s amateur and played the British Women’s Open.

The juniors in the field include Ffion Tynan of Wales, who is the Scottish girls’ champion, and Charlotte Heath of Huddersfield, Yorkshire, who reached the semi-finals of the British girls’ championship and won the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters.

Among the local players are Coventry’s own Lisa Barton, a past Warwickshire champion, and county team mate Lauren Beaman of Moor Hall.

Coventry Golf Club will test the players with its mature undulating parkland course which has been host to many prestigious professional and amateur tournaments.

The full field will play an 18-hole round on each of Tuesday and Wednesday, with the top 40 and ties playing the final 36 holes on Thursday. Spectators are welcome and admission is free.