BB&O to defend their senior crown


Titleholders BB&O (Berks, Bucks & Oxon) will defend their crown when the English Senior Men’s County Championship gets underway at Chipping Sodbury Golf Club, Gloucestershire, on Tuesday, October 4.

The team, which includes six members of the successful 2015 side, represents the South East at County Finals. They will take on the challenge of Devon from the South West, Worcestershire from the Midlands, and Lancashire, the 2014 champions from the North.

The four teams will play-off in a round robin competition over three days, finishing on Thursday, October 6.

BB&O and Lancashire have both won this title once but the other two teams are seeking their first victory.

The players include BB&O’s David Niven and Lancashire’s Ian Crowther who recently helped England to win the Senior Home Internationals and a European championship bronze medal. BB&O’s Andrew Stracey has also represented England seniors.

The championship will be played on the Beaufort course, which was designed by Fred Hawtree and was opened in 1971. Water hazards are a feature on many holes and the course boasts some of the best greens in the South West. These, although large, play smaller than their size, as many of them are raised slightly from the surrounding terrain, putting a premium on accurate iron play.

The course has previously hosted the English Men’s County Championship in 2009, plus the PGA West Region Championships on three occasions, most recently in 2015, along with many county events for amateurs and professionals.

First day’s draw: Lancashire v Worcestershire; BB&O v Devon.  Each match consists of three foursomes and six singles. Spectators are welcome.

The teams:

Ashley Brewer (captain, Denham), David Cromie (Denham), Adrian Donkersley (Denham), David Niven (Newbury & Crookham), Malcolm Reid (Sonning), Tim Whittaker (Beaconsfield), George Best Wilson (Calcot Park), Andrew Stracey (Denham).

Tim Aggett (Torquay), Tony Allsopp (Tiverton), Mark Haskell (Teignmouth), Phil Lyons (Churston), Paul Marels (Dartmouth), Rick Pillow (Exeter), Paul Vicary (Saunton), Richard Ward (Dainton Park). Non-playing team manager: Jon Gynne.

Bill Bromilow (Chorley), Gary Byrne (Clitheroe), Ian Crowther (Royal Lytham & St Annes), Trevor Foster (Pleasington), Robert Fox (Royal Lytham & St Annes), Alan Gillespie (St Annes Old Links), Tony Holt (Clitheroe), Andy Westwell (Manchester). Non-playing team manager: Mike Grey.

Gary Bristow (Redditch), Mark Carpenter (Worcester), Steve Carpenter (Stourbridge), Paul Newman (Droitwich), Will Painter (Kidderminster), Craig Pates (Moseley), Bryan Swain (Stourbridge), Bill Thompson (Kings Norton). Non-playing team captain: Peter Adams.

Click here for the championship webpage

Caption: Defending champions BB&O (image copyright Leaderboard Photography).