Yorkshire to defend Boys’ County Finals

Yorkshire will defend the English boys’ county championship next week at Rockliffe Hall in County Durham.

They’ll be challenged for the title by teams from Lincolnshire, Kent and Cornwall, when the championship takes place from Tuesday to Thursday, 28-30 August.

The teams have all come through qualifiers to represent their region at County Finals and Kent will be seeking their first title. Lincolnshire and Cornwall have both won once while Yorkshire will target their ninth victory.

The golf promises to be excellent with many fine players in the teams. Among them are Yorkshire’s Ben Schmidt who was runner-up in the McGregor Trophy and went on to win the Lee Westwood Trophy at his home club, Rotherham. Meanwhile, his team-mate Joshua Berry is the French U14 champion.

The Kent team includes Jensen Hull who reached the semi-finals of the Boys’ Amateur Championship and Jacob Kelso, who won the 2017 English Boys’ County Champion of Champions title.

Cornwall’s George Leigh had the winning individual score at the South West qualifying event for this championship and he was sixth in the McGregor Trophy. Lincolnshire’s very experienced Hugo Kedzlie was third in the Midland boys’ championship.

The round robin championship is played over three days. Each match consists of three foursomes and six singles.


The teams


Cameron Gurd, Perranporth

George Leigh, Trevose

George Law, Perranporth

Thomas Stephens, Truro

Joe Reynard, Trevose

Ewan Warren, St Austell

Liam Wilson, Truro



Connor Bell, Royal Blackheath

Jensen Hull, Hever Castle

Jacob Kelso, Kings Hill

Ben Quinney, Bearsted

Oliver Sly, Wildernesse

Callum Tibbs, Chart Hills

George Young, West Malling



Michael Baines, Sleaford

Callum Bruce, Elsham

Jake Craddock, Belton Park

Thomas Hull, Spalding

Hugo Kedzlie, Spalding

Olly Mitchell, Belton Park

Jack Remblance, Seacroft Golf Club



Joshua Berry, Doncaster

Charlie Daughtrey, Rotherham

Michael Hay, Middlesbrough

Jack Leversidge, Abbeydale

Callum Macfie, Lindrick

Jack Maxey, Hornsea

Ben Schmidt, Rotherham