European Disabled Golf Association


On the 1st January 2015, England Golf were welcomed as the representative body to the European Disabled Golf Association (EDGA) for disabled golf in England.

England Golf  took over the work previously undertaken by BALASA, who continue to run their own events and host EDGA events.

The European Disabled Golf Association host a number of Access, Challenge and Premier events for golfers who meet the impairment criteria. These events take place by Category of golfer, 1-4 and award points towards the Rankings for Golfers with a Disability (R4GD)

A new process is now in place for disabled golfers who meet the required level of impairment and wish to participate in the EDGA Access, Challenge and Premier events.


In order to access EDGA competitions players must hold:

• An approved EDGA Medical Pass – meeting required level of impairment
• Active CONGU handicap
• Enter ballots through the EDGA website

Disabled golfers wishing to retain membership of BALASA will pay their BALASA fee in the usual way. BALASA will continue to select England teams for relevant international events. To be eligible for selection to represent England, players will need to be a member of BALASA.

For more information on the eligibility criteria and how to apply for a medical pass then please read the attached documents at the top of this page.

England Golf and its partners are committed to increasing the participation of disabled people in golf and providing more people the opportunity to enter, return and develop within the game to whatever level they chose to play to. 

If you would like to find out more about England Golf and the opportunities to Get into Golf, find membership offers, return to golf or volunteer then please contact the Participation & Club Support Team on  or 01526 354500.

  • England Golf Partnership
  • England Golf Trust
  • Sport England
  • Woodhall Spa
  • Get into Golf
  • GolfMark