Nine English players in Walker Cup squad

Jimmy Mullen

Nine English players have been named in the initial 20-man squad announced by the R&A for the Great Britain and Ireland Walker Cup team to face the USA at Royal Lytham & St Annes in September.

They include Ashley Chesters, the double European amateur champion; Nick Marsh, the English amateur champion; and Brabazon Trophy winner Ben Stow. The other English squad members are: Tomasz Anderson, Daniel Brown, Adam Chapman, Sam Horsfield, Paul Howard and Jimmy Mullen (image © Leaderboard Photography).

The 45th Walker Cup match will be played on the weekend of 12 and 13 September and will see GB&I bidding to win back the historic trophy after the USA’s convincing 17-9 victory in the 2013 match at the National Golf Links of America in Southampton, New York.

A get-together for the 20-man squad will be held on 21 and 22 July at Royal Lytham & St Annes and the players will also meet ahead of the Lytham Trophy in May.

Nigel Edwards, captain of the GB&I team, said, “We have selected a strong squad of players and they will all know that they are in contention for a place on the team and it is up to them to perform this season.

“As the season progresses I am sure that a number of players who do not form part of this current squad will challenge for places on the team as has happened in previous years with the likes of Steven Brown and Danny Willett playing their way on to the 2011 and 2007 teams. Players who do not form part of this squad can still play their way on to the team for September.”

Amateur Champion Bradley Neil leads a strong Scottish contingent in the squad, which also includes the 2014 St Andrews Links Trophy champion, Grant Forrest, and Jamie Savage, who won the Irish Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship.

Ireland’s Gavin Moynihan is the only player in the squad with previous Walker Cup experience. The current Scottish Open Stroke Play Champion played in the 2013 match where he earned two points for GB&I. He is joined by fellow Irishmen Gary Hurley, who finished joint runner-up in the 2014 European Amateur Championship, and Paul Dunne, who came through Final Qualifying to play in last year’s Open at Royal Liverpool.

David Boote, who enjoyed a top ten finish in last year’s European Amateur Championship, is the sole Welshman included.

The squad is:
Tomasz Anderson (Brocket Hall)
David Boote (Walton Heath)
Daniel Brown (Bedale)
Adam Chapman (Windermere)
Ashley Chesters (Hawkstone Park)
Paul Dunne (Greystones)
Grant Forrest (Craigielaw)
Sam Horsfield (Davenport, USA)
Paul Howard (Southport & Ainsdale)
Jack Hume (Naas)
Gary Hurley (West Waterford)
Nick Marsh (Huddersfield)
Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock (Barassie))
Gavin Moynihan (The Island)
Jimmy Mullen (Royal North Devon)
Bradley Neil (Blairgowrie)
Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie)
Jamie Savage (Cawder)
Cormac Sharvin (Ardglass)
Ben Stow (Rushmore)