Jenny Clink becomes England Golf President

Gloucestershire’s Jenny Clink has taken office as the 2019 President of England Golf.

Jenny, a member at Lilley Brook Golf Club, took up her new role at today’s annual meeting of England Golf, held at its Woodhall Spa headquarters. Graham Yates of Somerset becomes the President Elect.

Jenny succeeds Northumberland’s Desmond Duffy. She has shared her love of the game throughout her life, inspiring new players and taking on a host of roles at club, county and national level.

Among them, she chaired the English Women’s Golf Association, which later merged with the English Golf Union to form England Golf. Within her county she has been Gloucestershire’s county captain and president.

Jenny has also had close involvement with championship golf, both as a sought-after referee and as a successful England captain. Her commitment to the sport has been recognised with England’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her services to golf.

Graham Yates is a member at Burnham and Berrow Golf Club. He has been a golf volunteer for over 45 years and joined the board of directors of the English Golf Union in 2007.

He played a key role in the merger which created England Golf in 2012, and he continued as a director of the new organisation until 2017. For the last three years he was chairman of the board.

Two new Board members were appointed at the AGM, with Buckinghamshire’s Phillipa Cook and Yorkshire’s Kevin Tucker elected as directors.

Phillipa, a member at Woburn, is a lifelong golfer and has been involved with county golf for 16 years. She has undertaken a variety of roles, including that of county captain, website administrator and lead course rater for the county. She represents Midlands South on the England Golf championship working group.

Kevin, a member at Saltburn-by-the-Sea for 50 years, was an England regional squad player in his youth. He has chaired the England selectors and been an England men’s squad manager and team captain, notably at the 2017 World Amateur Team Championship when England were silver medallists. He is the 2019 Yorkshire President.