Team title for England trio

Meghan Macaren Inci Mehmet

England, represented by Meghan MacLaren, Inci Mehmet and India Clyburn, won the team trophy at the British women’s stroke play championship at Moortown Golf Club, Leeds.

They finished 12 shots ahead of runners-up Switzerland scoring an aggregate 297 over the first two 36 holes of the championship. The best two scores counted in each round.

MacLaren (Wellingborough) was the defending champion and the highest-placed English player this year, finishing in a tie for fourth place on one-under par (71 76 73 75).

Mehmet (Royal Mid Surrey) tied 16th on six-over (78 74 76 74) while Clyburn (Woodhall Spa) missed the cut, but her first round score of 76 contributed to the team total.

The championship was won 17-year-old Aditi Ashok of India, who was 11-under par and five ahead of Ireland’s Olivia Mehaffey.

Caption: Megan MacLaren (left) and Inci Mehmet with the team trophy. (Image courtesy LGU)

Click here for full scores