Testing the sand in a bunker

Golfer asking referee about bunker rule

A golfer wants to test the depth of the sand where his ball is lying, but does not want to incur a penalty.

You are the ref in this golf rules quiz, and the golfer needs your help on the correct ruling.

Click or tap play on the video below to watch the scenario play out, and view three different options.

Rules quiz scenario

A player’s ball lines in a greenside bunker slightly up the face of the bunker.

The player notices that the sand where the ball lies looks tighter and flatter than where they are stood.

The player wants to test the depth of the sand on the face of the bunker, but wants to avoid a penalty.

Which one of the three options will you make as your ruling?

Ruling Option 1

  • The player is not allowed to touch the sand in any way before making their stroke.

Ruling Option 2

  • The player is allowed to take a stance for a practice stroke anywhere in the bunker.

Ruling Option 3

  • The player can use the rake to smooth footprints in the bunker in a similar-looking area to where their ball is.

So what is the correct ruling? Click or tap play on the video below to find out.