England’s leading men on trail of European title in Ireland

Garrick Porteous

Four members of England’s victorious squad that won the European Challenge Trophy in Iceland last month have been named in a group of 15 players to represent England Golf in the International European Amateur Championship at Carton House in Ireland on 8th – 11th August.

The quartet is Jack Hiluta (Chelmsford, Essex), Garrick Porteous (Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland), (image © Tom Ward) Callum Shinkwin (Moor Park, Hertfordshire) and Ben Stow Rushmore, Wiltshire).

The other members of the group are: Tom Berry (Wentworth, Surrey), Harry Casey (Enfield, Middlesex), Ashley Chesters (Hawkstone Park, Shropshire & Herefordshire), Greg Eason (Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire and Rutland), Nathan Kimsey (Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire), Ben Loughrey (Wrag Barn, Wiltshire), Edward Richardson (Hemsted Forest, Kent), Jamie Rutherford (Knebworth, Hertfordshire), Michael Saunders (Dartford, Kent), Darren Timms (Mid Kent), Matthew Wallace (Moor Park, Hertfordshire),  and Josh White (Chipstead, Surrey).

Eight members of the group are full internationals, while others have been capped at boys level.

Of the 15, Kimsey was the most successful in last week’s English Amateur Championship supported by abacus at Silloth-on-Solway, losing in the semi-finals. White reached the last 16, Casey, Hiluta, Porteous and Richardson the last 32.

White won the Berkshire Trophy in June, while Berry was runner-up. Saunders won the Lagonda Trophy, Hiluta took the Spanish Amateur and Kimsey the Darwin Salver.

Stow won the individual title in the European Men’s Challenge Trophy in Iceland with Porteous in third place, while third places this year have also been achieved by Casey in the Tillman Trophy, by Rutherford in the Brabazon Trophy and by Richardson, capped by England in 2005 and ’06, in the Lagonda Trophy.

Chesters and Shinkwin made their full England debuts against France at Rochester & Cobham Park in May after Shinkwin had won the Hampshire Hog.

No English player has won the European Amateur since Matthew Richardson in 2004.  James Heath, Gary Lockerbie, Matt Cryer, Steven Lewton, Tommy Fleetwood and Steven Brown, in 2011, have all finished runner-up.

Image of Garrick Porteous copyright Tom Ward Photography.