England 12 in GB&I Walker Cup squad

Twelve England players have been named by The R&A in an initial GB&I squad of 26 for this year’s Walker Cup match against the USA.

They include Conor Gough, the Boys’ Amateur champion; Tom Sloman, the European Nations Cup champion; Tom Plumb, the Sanlam Cape Province Open champion; and Thomas Thurloway, the English Amateur champion.

Named alongside them are Jake Burnage (pictured), Alex Fitzpatrick, Bailey Gill, David Hague, Harry Hall, Ben Jones, Joe Pagdin and Robin Williams.

The 47th Walker Cup match will be played at Royal Liverpool on Saturday 7 and Sunday 8 September with GB&I aiming to win back the trophy after losing 19-7 at the Los Angeles Country Club two years ago.

Craig Watson, GB&I captain, said, “We have selected a talented group of players who are all in contention for a place in the team to play the United States of America and will be continuing to monitor the form and results of these players over the course of the season.

“We will also be looking closely at the performances of other players who have not been included in the squad and there is still time for them to play their way into our plans ahead of the final team selection later this year.”

Six players from Scotland have been chosen, including 2019 African Amateur champion, Euan Walker and reigning Scottish Amateur champion, Euan McIntosh. Sandy Scott, who won the El Macero Classic earlier this month, Marquette Intercollegiate champion Ryan Lumsden, Kieran Cantley and Jamie Stewart are also in Watson’s plans.

Conor Purcell, who won the 2019 Australian Amateur Championship, is among five players from Ireland to feature in Watson’s squad. He is joined by 2019 West of Ireland Amateur champion Caolan Rafferty, 2018 Eisenhower Trophy player John Murphy, Mark Power and James Sugrue.

2018 Irish Boys Amateur champion Archie Davies, Ben Chamberlain and Jake Hapgood are the three players from Wales.

The players selected for the GB&I squad are:

Jake Burnage, Saunton, Devon, 23 John Murphy, Kinsale, 20
Kieran Cantley, Liberton, 21 Joseph Pagdin, Lake Nona, Florida 17
Ben Chamberlain, Padeswood & Buckley, 21 Thomas Plumb, Yeovil, Somerset,20
Archie Davies, Carlisle, 17 Mark Power, Kilkenny, 18
Alex Fitzpatrick, Hallamshire, Yorkshire 20 Conor Purcell, Portmarnock, 21
Bailey Gill, Lindrick, Yorkshire, 21 Caolan Rafferty, Dundalk, 26
Conor Gough, Stoke Park, BB&O 16 Sandy Scott, Nairn, 20
David Hague, Malton & Norton, Yorkshire, 22 Tom Sloman, Taunton & Pickeridge, Somerset 22
Harry Hall, West Cornwall, 21 Jamie Stewart, Old Course Ranfurly, 19
Jake Hapgood, Southerndown, 22 James Sugrue, Mallow, 22
Benjamin Jones, Northamptonshire County, 19 Tom Thurloway, Chartham Park, Sussex 21
Ryan Lumsden, Royal Wimbledon, 22 Euan Walker, Kilmarnock (Barassie), 23
Euan McIntosh, Turnhouse, 50 Robin Williams, Peterborough Milton,  Northamptonshire,17

Image copyright Leaderboard Photography